Introductions

Image

Well, I’ve never really blogged before, so here goes nothing…

My name is Emily Kvalheim, and I just finished my sophomore year at American University in Washington, DC, where I am studying Political Science and International Studies. Originally, I am from Westerville, OH, where I am a member of Church of the Messiah United Methodist.

This summer I have been accepted into the Next Generations Leadership Ministry Internship Program through the West Ohio Conference of the United Methodist Church. I am so excited for this opportunity!

I will be interning with Belmont UMC in Dayton, OH, working with the children’s ministry, Hispanic ministry, and other outreach programs. Personally, my goal this summer is to explore the ways in which I can use my faith to promote social justice, and I cannot think of a more meaningful way to do this!

Everything is very new right now, and I am not really sure what to expect in the coming weeks. I am moving to Dayton later today, and I look forward to meeting my host family (and their 2 dogs!), as well as the congregation tomorrow! (I guess I better dress up more than normal for church on Sunday! Haha, we’ll see, but no sweatpants!)

This opportunity is such a blessing, and I hope to share this journey with you! I ask for your continued prayers this summer, for myself and for the other three interns, as we discern our calls to ministry.

May God bless you!

2 thoughts on “Introductions

  1. YES, I will follow your blog!! So happy for you. You will be a wonderful addition to Belmont UMC’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

