Food Pantry Outreach Ministry

Image

Well, I was not going to blog every day, but tonight I just have to!

Today was a little overwhelming–lots of information to go through and lots of figuring out to do. Even so, I am so excited for this week and the other weeks ahead!

Tonight I was able to help with the food pantry ministry at Belmont UMC! I met a lot of wonderful people, including one very special five-year-old boy. This little boy picked up a book off the shelf and started looking at the pictures. It was the Christmas story. When I told him the book was about Jesus, he looked puzzled. “Do you know who Jesus is?” I asked him, and he shook his head. 

This surprised me a little bit, because I had grown up hearing about Jesus. I asked the boy if he wanted me to read him the story, and he did. For a five-year-old, he paid very close attention to me while I was reading, and he asked many questions about the wise men, angels, and Mary. Another volunteer at the food pantry told me afterwards that the boy was mesmerized by the story.

That moment was so very powerful. I don’t really like to push my faith on others, but to see the reaction of that little boy who was in awe of the hero, Jesus, who had come to save him, was just incredible! And right then I knew that I was doing exactly what I was called to do. I don’t even know what else to say but glory be to God!

On a lighter note–Jeff, if you’re out there reading this, I don’t think we’ve met, but thanks for letting me borrow your name tag tonight!

May God bless you!

3 thoughts on “Food Pantry Outreach Ministry

Leave a Reply

