Prayer

Image

 

I spent today thinking a lot about prayer. I went to an 8:30 AM prayer meeting, where we lifted up to God the joys and concerns of the church. God already knows everything, yet we take the time to tell Him what is going on in our lives, thanking Him, praising Him, asking for help. I think it’s kind of beautiful. He is so very patient with us, and He hears our prayers. 

The above picture goes with this Sunday’s Children’s Moment. (If you are a child and you go to Belmont UMC, please ignore that and disregard the rest of this message! Haha!) It is how I chose to represent Proverbs 3: 5-6: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” Just like in this maze, sometimes we don’t know which way to go in life or what to do. I often find myself making individual decisions, ignoring the Holy Spirit’s pull on my heart and God’s plan for my life. I need to start accepting “No” as an answer to my prayers; when God says, “No,” it is only because there is a much greater “Yes” waiting in the future.

The rest of the day went well! I got to work on some of my readings in the prayer garden again, and I established a calendar for potential service projects to do with older elementary school kids at T.N.T. on Wednesday nights. I am very excited to share the importance of serving others with them!

Tonight I was able to volunteer at the food pantry. (I was Dennis this time.) Unfortunately, it was the last night the pantry will be open for awhile. But I met many great people and invited some to church events! (I don’t really believe in pushing my faith on others, but I figured since I was already at a church…) The hug I got from one woman and the look of pure gratitude from another man made my night! We are all people.

Afterwards I attended the most adorable preschool graduation ever! It is my hope that these children become and stay involved in the church for years to come.

If you are reading this, I ask for continued prayers for direction and purpose in my life as I continue this journey. I also ask for prayers for all of those people who I met and prayed for today. God will understand.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

