Catch-Up Post!

I love my internship! But I have been so busy that I have not had any time to blog. Here is what you’ve missed…

Image

On Friday, I attended the youth lock-in, which was so much fun! I got to know some of the youth, play basketball and hide-n-seek, and re-live my own youth group days!

Image

I was exhausted on Saturday, so naturally, I went hiking at Charleston Falls Preserve!

Image

On Sunday, I did the Children’s Moment at 8:30 AM and 11:00 AM, and though only three children came up, I got to share my lesson with some of the “big kids,” too! I also was able to visit with my godparents in the afternoon!

On Sunday night, I sat down with some very incredible people who told me personal stories about homelessness, drugs, gang violence, broken relationships, abuse, and disease. They told me about their pain and heartbreak and the ways that others had wronged them. They shared with me examples of the ways that they had personally sinned. Most importantly, they told me of their trust and hope in the Lord. We all sin and fall short of the glory of God, but we have been made new. What incredible faith these men and women have, despite all the trials they have faced. As one woman said, “Take the house, take the car, take the people; give me Jesus!” I can only hope that one day I will have a faith as strong and as complete as theirs, and I look forward to being in fellowship with them again soon. What a wonderful way to end my day before driving home to visit my family!

Image

On Tuesday, I worked on this little guy, who ended up being the example for the T.N.T. craft tonight, which went along with Isaiah 40:31, “But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.”

Today was so busy–8:30 AM prayer meeting, T.N.T. preparation, 10:30 AM T.N.T. planning meeting, 12:30 PM hospital visit, more T.N.T. preparation, 4:00 PM staff meeting, 6:15 T.N.T., and a lot of catch-up reading, blogging, journaling, etc.

Image

T.N.T. was hectic, but fun! I’m so glad that 6 tweens came tonight, listened to the devotion, followed directions, made some pretty cool eagles, and decorated cards to send to soldiers abroad! (Personally, tonight was a great accomplishment because I only burned three of my fingers on the hot glue gun!)

I am so blessed to be at Belmont UMC, and I look forward to tomorrow and the rest of the week!

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

